Book Review: Bloodroot

BloodrootBloodroot by Amy Greene

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Includes wonderful descriptions of life on a mountain and full of magic realism-style narrative that reminded me of some Latin American writers. At times, towards the end of the book, the descriptions were vivid enough to make me pretty uncomfortable–especially because of a situation dealing with someone being trapped in a small space (claustrophobia), something to do with a snake and the miserable emotional/mental conditions that one of the characters has to live through. But, that said, when I knew I was close to finishing it last night, I couldn’t go to sleep until it was done.

I’m always fascinated by Appalachia, so the setting kept me interested. I was definitely rooting for the characters to get out of the cycle of bad choices/poverty, and the end left me with some hope of that, which was what I needed at that point.

All in all, a good read.

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

