Wedding Week: Anniversary Trip to Madison

Yesterday, August 28, MT and I celebrated our one-year anniversary. Who knew a year could fly by so quickly? And how much marriage would teach me how in need of a Savior I am? It certainly has revealed to me (in new ways) my selfishness and pride. Thankfully, I have an awesome husband who is incredibly patient, rarely gets angry, continues to pursue me, and makes me laugh.

In honor of our first anniversary, I’ll be doing some marriage/wedding-related posts this week. To start off, we’ll review the lovely weekend that we just had in Madison to celebrate the occasion!

Madison might seem like a really random place to go for an anniversary weekend. It is. But, I went to college there, at the University of Wisconsin (Go Badgers!), and MT had never been before. Plus, it has tons of yummy restaurants, is a lovely place to bike, has great people watching, is a place full of memories for me and is a reasonable driving distance from St. Louis. (It was actually MT’s idea to go there.)

We arrived on Friday afternoon. First order of business: marvel at the view out of our hotel room.

What you see is Lake Monona and the top of Monona Terrace. Not too shabby! (Madison is located on an isthmus between Lake Monona and Lake Mendota.)

We then wasted no time in hopping on our bikes so that I could show him around downtown and the UW campus.

Showed MT where I went to church during college and lived for 1 1/2 years.

Stopped at Allen Centennial Gardens, near the lakeshore dorms.

Stopped on Observatory Drive to snap a shot of Lake Mendota.

Stopped at many other spots on campus, but didn’t take photos.

We had dinner that evening with an dear college friend of mine who is fairly recently engaged. I completely forgot to take photos. But I’ll give you a mental picture: I was wearing my I-wish-I-were-Michael-Jackson military jacket. Complete with shoulder pads. True story.

The quintessential Saturday morning in Madison activity: strolling around the Dane County Farmer’s Market, which encircles the state capitol building. It was a gorgeous morning. We bought some pepper plants to give to MT’s mom for her birthday in a few weeks.

We popped inside the Capitol Square Starbucks to see my friend, Jovita, in action, and I snapped some photos of her, since I forgot to document our dinner together the night before.

We explored State Street for a few hours

and then had a tasty lunch at Lao Laan-Xang. (Thanks Naomi!)

After some recovering from the day at our hotel, we headed out for our fancy-schmancy anniversary dinner at L’Etoile. Amazing.

We capped off the weekend with a Sunday morning bike ride around Lake Monona, with some detours over to the UW Arboretum and Camp Randall Stadium. We then hit up Lazy Jane’s for brunch and wrapped up our time in Madtown with some reading/daydreaming on the Memorial Union Terrace, one of my favorite Madison places. All in all, it was a wonderful weekend with my man and a fun walk down memory lane.

This entry was posted in life, MT, travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wedding Week: Anniversary Trip to Madison

  1. Naomi says:

    What a beautiful weekend! What did MT think? Glad you had some great eating and lots of biking to counteract all that tastiness.

Leave a Reply

