A Thankful November

Has anyone else noticed people on Facebook listing something different they’re thankful for each day in November leading up to Thanksgiving? I think it’s fun. I read about a similar homey craft activity on Young House Love two years ago and ever since, I wanted to try it for myself.

I got to try it today while Miriam took a nap…and I discovered, wait, confirmed, that Martha Stewart, I am not. But it was still fun. And I only cut myself with the Xacto knife once!

It’s a glass jar that now has “thanks” etched on it. As you can see, it’s not so pretty as the YHL version. I tried to fix some spots in the “a” and the “k” and it only made it worse 😛

I tried to tell myself that its imperfections just add to its charm…that’s what Michelle Farmer always used to tell us while we made cards at her house, right Michelle? 🙂

I also cut up some 4-inch squares of Thanksgiving-esque scrapbooking paper (as suggested by YHL) for MT and I to use to write down what we’re thankful for each day from now until Thanksgiving. We’ll pop them into the jar and then read them together at the end of the month or after Thanksgiving. Hopefully this can become a fun annual tradition!

In other news, today was election day. I get so excited for this day…it feels festive. I guess it’s the poli sci major coming out in me. I have my electoral map all ready to color in as the results are announced tonight state by state. It was fun taking Miriam to vote with me…3 out of 4 poll workers who commented on her pumpkin hat, etc., mentioned how cute “he” was…oh well. I guess that’s what happens when you dress your daughter in a brown onesie and jeans.

 

 

Happy Election Day and Happy November!

 

This entry was posted in baby, life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Thankful November

  1. zuzuernie says:

    Wow! What an honor to be mentioned in your blog! I think your jar looks great!

Leave a Reply

